Baghlan

The northern Afghan province of Baghlan is situated at the foot of the Hindu Kush mountain range and consists of 16 districts. Most of the province’s 920,000 or so residents speak Dari. Baghlan is known as a transit region, with all traffic between Kabul and Afghanistan’s Central Asian neighbours passing through this northern province. Nonetheless, the poor road conditions makes it difficult for the local population to get to the provincial capital and other destinations. Additionally, many villages are not connected to the electricity supply.

In the majority of the province’s districts, people largely make their living from agricultural produce. However, the provincial capital Pol-e Khomri has a longstanding mining heritage.

The German Cooperation with Afghanistan has been working in Baghlan province for many years. It runs programmes in a range of areas, including agricultural and economic development, the rule of law, road construction, water and energy supply, and administrative reform. The various programmes have helped to effect change and improve the living conditions of local people.

This section provides you with an overview of the German Cooperation with Afghanistan’s activities in Baghlan.

Projects in Focus

Drinking Water for Northern Afghanistan Clean drinking water is a scarce commodity for people living in Afghanistan. Although the supply of clean water has improved, the Afghan population often only has access to polluted drinking water, which frequently results in cholera, typhoid fever and diarrhoeal diseases. more
Electricity for Development For most households and enterprises in Afghanistan, a reliable power supply is inconceivable. Only around 30 per cent of the population is connected to the electricity grid, one of the lowest rates worldwide. The situation is particularly bad in northern Afghanistan, where only few towns and villages are connected to the grid. more
Greater Stability in Northern Afghanistan Living conditions are difficult in remote northern parts of Afghanistan. Most inhabitants depend on agriculture and animal husbandry for their livelihoods. There are few other jobs with better earning opportunities. more
Legal certainty for all citizens The Afghan Constitution, adopted in 2004, guarantees equal rights for men and women. This is also reflected in the international human rights treaties signed by Afghanistan. While many new laws and policy programmes adhere to the spirit of the new legal system, their implementation is slow. more
Sustainable Economic Development and Employment Promotion Economic growth in Afghanistan has been stagnating for years. The difficult security situation in the country and the political uncertainty are having a negative impact on the investment climate and the job market. The many returnees and internally displaced persons further exacerbate the already strained labour market. more
Strengthening Governance Structures for Better Infrastructure The living conditions in northern Afghanistan continue to be poor. The majority of the population has only limited access to basic infrastructure and public services. There is a lack of roads, bridges, clean drinking water, irrigation systems for agriculture, energy supply, flood protection, and schools, among other things. more

Stories & Faces

Baghlan

Im Norden Afghanistans, zu Füßen des Hindukusch-Gebirges, liegt die Provinz Baghlan, die aus 16 Distrikten besteht. Ein Großteil der Bevölkerung in Baghlan, die etwa 920.000 Menschen beträgt, spricht Dari. Baghlan gilt als Transitregion, denn sämtlicher Verkehr zwischen Kabul und den zentralasiatischen Nachbarn durchquert diese Nordprovinz. Der weitgehend schlechte Zustand vieler Straßen macht es der örtlichen Bevölkerung allerdings schwer, in die Provinzhauptstadt oder an andere Orte zu gelangen. Viele Dörfer sind außerdem nicht an die Stromversorgung angeschlossen.

In den meisten Distrikten der Provinz leben die Menschen im Wesentlichen von landwirtschaftlichen Erträgen. Die Provinzhauptstadt Pul-e Khumri blickt jedoch auch auf eine lange Bergbautradition zurück.

Die deutsche Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan ist seit vielen Jahren in der Provinz Baghlan aktiv. Die Programme reichen von Landwirtschaftsförderung, Wirtschaftsentwicklung, Förderung der Rechtsstaatlichkeit und Straßenbau über die Wasser- und Energieversorgung bis hin zu Verwaltungsreformen. Mit Hilfe diverser Programme konnten Erfolge erzielt und die Lebensbedingungen der Menschen vor Ort verbessert werden.

Hier erhalten Sie eine Übersicht über die Tätigkeiten der deutschen Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan in Baghlan.

Im Fokus

Trinkwasser für Nordafghanistan Sauberes Trinkwasser ist für die Menschen in Afghanistan ein knappes Gut. Die Versorgung mit sauberem Wasser hat sich verbessert, aber der afghanischen Bevölkerung steht oft nur verschmutztes Trinkwasser zur Verfügung. Cholera, Typhus oder Durchfallerkrankungen sind häufig die Folge. mehr
Strom für Entwicklung An zuverlässige Energieversorgung ist für die meisten Haushalte und Betriebe in Afghanistan nicht zu denken. Nur etwa 30 Prozent der Bevölkerung sind an das Stromnetz angeschlossen, das ist weltweit einer der niedrigsten Werte. Besonders schlecht ist die Lage im Norden Afghanistans, wo nur wenige Städte und Dörfer Anschluss ans Stromnetz haben. mehr
Mehr Stabilität im Norden Afghanistans Im abgelegenen Norden Afghanistans sind die Lebensbedingungen schwierig. Die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner der Region leben überwiegend von Landwirtschaft und Tierzucht. Andere Arbeitsmöglichkeiten mit besseren Verdienstchancen gibt es kaum. mehr
Rechtssicherheit für Bürgerinnen und Bürger Die afghanische Verfassung, die 2004 verabschiedet wurde, garantiert Männern und Frauen die gleichen Rechte. Dies spiegelt sich auch in den von Afghanistan unterzeichneten internationalen Menschenrechtsabkommen wieder. Obwohl viele neue Gesetze und politische Programme dem Geist der neuen Rechtsordnung entsprechen, kommt deren Umsetzung nur langsam voran. mehr
Nachhaltige Wirtschafts- und Beschäftigungsförderung Das Wirtschaftswachstum in Afghanistan stagniert seit Jahren. Die schwierige Sicherheitslage im Land und die politische Unsicherheit wirken sich negativ auf das Investitionsklima und den Arbeitsmarkt aus. Zahlreiche Rückkehrer und Binnenvertriebene verschärfen die ohnehin angespannte Arbeitsmarktlage zusätzlich. mehr
Governance-Strukturen stärken für eine bessere Infrastruktur Die Lebensbedingungen im Norden Afghanistans sind nach wie vor schlecht. Die Mehrheit der Bevölkerung hat nur eingeschränkten Zugang zu grundlegender Infrastruktur und staatlichen Dienstleistungen. Es fehlt unter anderem an Straßen, Brücken, sauberem Trinkwasser, Bewässerungssystemen für die Landwirtschaft, Energieversorgung, Hochwasserschutz und Schulen. mehr

Unsere Geschichten