Balkh

Situated in north-western Afghanistan between Turkmenistan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan, Balkh Province has a population of over 1.3 million people and is the country’s fourth largest province. The main language spoken is Dari, followed by Pashtu. With some 410,000 residents, the provincial capital Mazar-e Sharif serves as the economic centre for the country’s north.

Balkh has the second highest urbanisation rate of any Afghan province, a significantly greater proportion of its work income comes from the service and craft sectors, and it boasts an above average level of education. The airport in the provincial capital offers daily domestic and international flights and makes a positive contribution to Afghanistan’s economic development.

Despite considerable progress in the areas of infrastructure expansion, education, health care, and energy and water supply, and in terms of the associated economic growth, the province continues to face major challenges. There is a marked difference in living standards between the urban and rural populations. Natural disasters are commonplace in spring and autumn.

The German Cooperation with Afghanistan has been working in Balkh Province for many years. It runs programmes in a range of areas, including education, agricultural development, sustainable economic development, the rule of law, administrative reform, water and energy supply, and health care. The various programmes have helped to effect change and improve local people’s living conditions.

This section provides you with an overview of the German Cooperation with Afghanistan’s activities in Balkh.

Projects in Focus

Integrating Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) – More than a Logistical Challenge In order to improve conditions for IDPs over the long term, the German Government is assisting Afghanistan with the implementation of the National Policy on Internally Displaced Persons which, among other things, supports their local integration. more

Stories & Faces

Balkh

Die Provinz Balkh liegt im Nordwesten des Landes, eingebettet zwischen Turkmenistan, Tadschikistan und Usbekistan, und ist mit über 1,3 Millionen Einwohnerinnen und Einwohnern die viertgrößte Provinz Afghanistans. Die größtenteils gesprochene Sprache ist Dari, gefolgt von Paschtu. Die Provinzhauptstadt Mazar-e Sharif bildet mit einer Bevölkerung von etwa 410.000 Menschen das wirtschaftliche Zentrum im Norden des Landes.

Balkh ist die Provinz mit der zweithöchsten Urbanisierungsquote Afghanistans, einem deutlich höheren Anteil der Arbeitseinkommen aus Dienstleistung und Handwerk sowie überdurchschnittlichem Bildungsniveau. Der Flughafen der Provinzhauptstadt bietet täglich nationale und internationale Flüge an und trägt positiv zur Wirtschaftsentwicklung des Landes bei.

Trotz erheblicher Fortschritte beim Infrastrukturausbau und in den Bereichen Bildung, Gesundheits-, Energie- und Wasserversorgung sowie dem damit einhergehenden wirtschaftlichen Wachstum steht die Provinz weiterhin vor großen Herausforderungen. Der Lebensstandard von Stadt- und Landbevölkerung unterscheidet sich deutlich. Zudem kommt es jeweils im Frühjahr und Herbst häufig zu Naturkatastrophen.

Die deutsche Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan ist seit vielen Jahren in der Provinz Balkh aktiv. Die Programme reichen von Bildungsprogrammen, Landwirtschaftsförderung, nachhaltiger Wirtschaftsentwicklung, Förderung der Rechtsstaatlichkeit über Verwaltungsreformen bis hin zu Wasser-, Energie- und Gesundheitsversorgung. Mit Hilfe diverser Programme konnten Erfolge erzielt und die Lebensbedingungen der Menschen vor Ort verbessert werden.

Hier erhalten Sie eine Übersicht über die Tätigkeiten der deutschen Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan in Balkh.

Im Fokus

Binnenvertriebene integrieren – mehr als eine logistische Herausforderung Um die Lebensbedingungen von Flüchtlingen langfristig zu verbessern, unterstützt die Bundesregierung Afghanistan in der Umsetzung der Nationalen Strategie für die Binnenvertriebenen. Diese dient unter anderem der Integration in die Gesellschaft am neuen Wohnort. mehr

Unsere Geschichten