Kunduz

Kunduz Province is located in north-eastern Afghanistan where it borders on Tajikistan. Most of the province’s one million-plus residents live in the Kunduz River valley. Only one third of the population resides in cities. Dari, Pashtu and Uzbek are the main languages spoken in Kunduz.


The province faces several challenges. Despite electricity being imported from Tajikistan, large areas of Kunduz have no power. Coupled with the volatile security situation, this adversely affects people’s willingness to invest in the region. There is a lack of employment opportunities, clean drinking water and roads throughout the province.

Despite these challenges, Kunduz has great potential for development. Roads run from the Tajik border across the Salang Pass to Kabul, and from the east to the west of the province. Kunduz also has an airport. Its climate, soils and irrigation systems make it suitable for agriculture. Kunduz is the second most fertile province in Afghanistan after Baghlan. Nomads use the lowlands to pasture their flocks and herds. Its proximity to Tajikistan means that Kunduz has developed a rich trading tradition.

The German Cooperation with Afghanistan has been working in Kunduz for many years. Current programmes focus on economic development, education, the rule of law, capacity development for regional government organisations, energy supply, water supply, and waste water disposal. A wide range of programmes have helped to effect change and improve local people’s living conditions.

This section provides you with an overview of the German Cooperation with Afghanistan’s activities in Kunduz.

Stories & Faces

Kunduz

Die Provinz Kunduz liegt im Nordosten des Landes und grenzt an Tadschikistan. Im Tal des Kunduz-Flusses lebt die Mehrheit der über eine Million Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner. Nur ein Drittel der Menschen wohnt in Städten. Dari, Paschtu und Usbekisch sind in der Provinz die meistgesprochenen Sprachen.

Die Provinz wird durch mehrere Herausforderungen geprägt: Obwohl Elektrizität aus Tadschikistan importiert wird, fehlt Strom in weiten Teilen der Provinz. Neben der volatilen Sicherheitslage trägt auch dies negativ zur mangelnden Bereitschaft bei, in die Region zu investieren. In der gesamten Provinz fehlt es an Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten, sauberem Trinkwasser und Straßen.

Trotz dieser Herausforderungen verfügt die Provinz über großes Entwicklungspotenzial. Von der tadschikischen Grenze führen Straßen über den Salang-Pass nach Kabul, ebenso von Ost nach West innerhalb der Provinz. Kunduz verfügt außerdem über einen Flughafen. Klima, Böden und Bewässerungssysteme eignen sich für landwirtschaftliche Aktivitäten. Neben Baghlan ist Kunduz die ertragreichste Provinz Afghanistans. Die ebenen Gebiete nutzen die wenigen Nomadinnen und Nomaden als Weidegründe für ihre Tiere. Aufgrund der Nähe zu Tadschikistan hat sich außerdem ein traditionsreicher Handel etabliert.

Die deutsche Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan ist seit vielen Jahren in Kunduz aktiv. Wirtschaftsentwicklung, Bildung, Förderung der Rechtsstaatlichkeit, Kapazitätsentwicklung regionaler Regierungsorganisationen, Energie- sowie Wasserver- und Abwasserentsorgung stehen dabei im Fokus der aktuellen Programme. Mit Hilfe diverser Programme konnten Erfolge erzielt und die Lebensbedingungen der Menschen vor Ort verbessert werden.

Hier erhalten Sie eine Übersicht über die Tätigkeiten der deutschen Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan in Kunduz.

 

Unsere Geschichten