Strategy

By the end of what is referred to as the ‘transformation decade’ (2015–2024) – a phase of far-reaching change processes – Afghanistan is to have attained the status of a ‘normal developing country’. That means that Afghanistan would still be extensively reliant on foreign assistance but would largely be capable of autonomously financing its budget and security costs. At present, however, the state has insufficient own funds to shoulder the country’s sustainable development that depends, above all, on the successful launch of an intra-Afghan peace process.

Afghan President Ashraf Ghani in dialogue with German Chancellor Angela Merkel.

The international community is supporting the country on its path towards self-reliance and is accompanying the process of reform as well as efforts to achieve the objectives agreed with the Afghan Government. At the Tokyo Conference in 2012, it agreed to continue its commitment to civil engagement until 2024 and reaffirmed this at the Ministerial Conferences in London (2014), Brussels (2016) and most recently Geneva (2018).

Based on the reform objectives agreed with the Afghan Government, the international community confirmed at the Brussels Conference in October 2016 its commitment to civil engagement in Afghanistan and pledged financial assistance totalling up to USD 15.2 billion for the period 2017 to 2020. For this period, the German Government has approved support for civil engagement amounting to EUR 430 million annually (German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development: EUR 250 million; German Federal Foreign Office: EUR 180 million). The release of the approved funds is conditional on the actual implementation of the agreed reforms, particularly in the ambits of governance, human rights and women’s rights in particular, rule of law and the fight against corruption as well as cooperation in refugee and migration matters.

At the Geneva Ministerial Conference on Afghanistan held on 27th and 28th November 2018, 70 states and international organisations met at the invitation of the United Nations and the Afghan Government to discuss current progress and further support for Afghanistan, in particular regarding the peace and reform process in the country. There was consensus that lasting peace can ultimately only be achieved by the Afghans themselves – with appropriate consideration of all relevant actors and groups.

The Geneva Ministerial Conference also adopted new concrete agreements on objectives of cooperation. The Geneva Mutual Accountability Framework (GMAF) forms the basis for joint efforts by the Afghan government and the international community in key development areas such as poverty reduction, combating corruption, good governance, the promotion of women and economic development. At the same time, the GMAF calls for the donor community’s stronger orientation towards Afghan priorities.

The Afghan Government bears the main responsibility for reform progress agreed jointly with the international community. However, it is dependent on the long-term commitment from the latter. Another donor conference is planned for November 2020 to determine the level of further international support for Afghanistan until the end of the transformation decade in 2024. Finland and Afghanistan will jointly prepare the conference. The Mutual Accountability Framework will also be updated on this occasion.

Germany will continue to support Afghanistan in the future to combat poverty, establish good governance, and improve the economic situation, thereby laying the foundations for lasting stability, security and peace. A prerequisite is the continuation of the Afghan Government’s reform efforts. In this regard, the European Union and its member states reaffirmed their expectations towards all Afghan actors in Council Conclusions on Afghanistan of May 2020.

The German Cooperation with Afghanistan helps establish the preconditions for Afghanistan’s long-term stability and peaceful development. It takes a comprehensive, networked approach that includes diplomatic efforts and projects of the ‘Stability Pact for Afghanistan’, involvement in NATO’s training and advisory mission, development cooperation, efforts to rebuild the police force and humanitarian aid.

This approach is primarily implemented by the German Federal Foreign Office, the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, the German Federal Ministry of the Interior and the German Federal Ministry of Defence. In the following, we take a closer look at the process of civil reconstruction, which is mainly supported by the German Federal Foreign Office and the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development.

The German Cooperation supports Afghanistan in building a state that its citizens will accept as a legitimate representative of their interests and as a provider of services for their basic needs. In order to achieve this, the Afghan Government must be able to offer its citizens the prospect of a life without poverty, displacement, migration and extremism.

Germany’s involvement in Afghanistan focuses on the following fields:

Advancing the peace and reconciliation process

The conflict in Afghanistan can only be resolved by political means. Only a political agreement between Afghan actors can create the conditions for stability and sustainable development in Afghanistan. We therefore support efforts to enter intra-Afghan negotiations. At the same time, we want to help ensure that as many social groups in Afghanistan as possible, especially women, can help shape a political solution and that this solution essentially preserves what has been achieved in recent years.

Alongside its work to strengthen state institutions, the German Government supports civil society in Afghanistan; in particular approaches that contribute towards the peace and reconciliation process. In addition, the German Government is committed to preventing extremism and strengthening regional cooperation.

Stabilising civil society and building up the police force

Stabilising civil society and building up the police force are essential supplementary measures to development cooperation and military support in the networked approach. The aim is to create the preconditions for a peace process. In cooperation with the Federal Ministry of the Interior, the German Federal Foreign Office (AA) supports the Afghan Ministry of the Interior financially and by sending German police officers to establish a police force capable of enforcing security while upholding rule-of-law principles.

Job prospects as an alternative to extremism

Every year, around 400,000 young people enter the labour market. Measures to promote employment and create jobs aim to improve their prospects and help give both women and men equally a more secure future.

Building a future through education and vocational training

Good education and vocational training afford the basis for access to employment and political participation. The aim is to improve people’s opportunities to shape their own lives thanks to quality basic education and vocational training geared towards the labour market. With capacity building and infrastructure measures, we help improve the quality of vocational training as well as primary and secondary education. In addition, we take advantage of the functioning structures already in place, such as traditional apprenticeships, and develop them further.

Delivering justice through good governance

Well-performing public authorities, administrations and institutions safeguard public order, peaceful social relations and legal certainty. Measures to improve the performance of the legal system and local governance will serve to build these bodies’ expertise and capacities to perform their functions in a transparent manner, combat corruption and strengthen women’s rights.

Economic development in rural areas

Three out of four Afghans live in rural areas and the majority work in agriculture. Against this backdrop, we focus our support in particular on the creation of both long-term and short-term productive employment opportunities, such as through the expansion and strengthening of milk and wheat value chains.

Providing basic infrastructure

Despite the progress made, Afghan citizens’ access to public infrastructure, services and accommodation is still very limited, especially in rural areas. Our work aims to improve the supply of basic infrastructure, such as energy and water supply, to citizens, particularly vulnerable groups such as internally displaced persons, and to support urban development, in order to contribute towards sustainable rural and urban development. A functioning basic infrastructure also strengthens citizens’ confidence in public institutions.

Strengthening local structures

An important prerequisite for development is the assumption of responsibility by local partners. With this in mind, the German Government strengthens local decision-making structures and increasingly integrates them in planning decisions and in the implementation process. This approach also contributes towards the resolution of conflicts of interest. To the extent possible, construction work is performed by local workers using local building materials in order to create jobs and generate income locally.

Providing humanitarian aid

Despite efforts to secure peace and development, 4.2 million people in Afghanistan need extensive humanitarian aid in 2018 according to the United Nations. Afghanistan’s population is suffering the consequences of frequent natural disasters and decades of armed conflict. Both factors have led to large numbers of internally displaced people who, like many of the Afghans returning from Pakistan and Iran, need humanitarian assistance.

The role of civil society

Civil society has an important role to play in setting expectations on public institution’s transparency and accountability and advancing change in society. Consequently, the German Government works closely with civil society organisations and provides them with advice to enable them to participate more intensively in state processes and thereby contribute to enforcing civil rights.

Support as an incentive for reform

In return for its financial assistance, the German Government expects the Afghan Government to keep to its reform pledges in the fields of governance, the fight against corruption, human rights and women’s rights in particular, and economic inclusion especially for women, as well as cooperation in refugee and migration topics.  

In future, the German Government intends to systematically expand cooperation with Afghan reform partners and increasingly set incentives for transparency, self-reliance and a focus on development.

In this context, the continuation of support will depend on the Afghan Government’s implementation of the mutually agreed reforms. If sufficient reform progress is not evident, we reduce or discontinue our support consistently. Germany and the international donor community closely align their respective support efforts with each other.

German Cooperation with Afghanistan – Presence in a Fragile Environment

The German Cooperation operates in many areas, including those marked by crisis and conflict. These areas are in particular need of the broad-based commitment offered by the German government. National institutions and civil society organisations require support in guaranteeing a life in peace, political security and stability as well as in developing economic prospects and enabling participation for the entire population.

The German Cooperation focuses on close collaboration on equal terms with the Afghan population and national partners on the ground. The framework for cooperation is formed by the Agenda 2030 and the values and rights of the UN Charter, especially human rights. After all, only these partners should and could be able to develop the necessary skills and unleash the essential momentum to plan and implement development programmes independently in the long term. For this reason, one of the German government’s top priorities is to work in close consultation with Afghan partners to tailor programmes to specific conditions in Afghanistan and adapt them to local needs in the best way possible.

In these efforts, Afghan experts working for the implementing organisations play a particularly significant role. The approaches used in technical and financial cooperation consistently aim at familiarising the national personnel with the German Cooperation’s processes and training them to manage implementation. The goal is to develop expertise on the ground, to gradually transfer responsibility to Afghan staff as they increasingly gain practical experience and, in doing so, involve them in management processes. Together with international experts, they need to be able to collaborate with Afghan partners to professionally plan programmes, manage their implementation and ensure effectiveness and sustainability of all activities.

The national and international staff’s security in Afghanistan is a top priority for the German government. The security situation for national and international staff can be very different and the situation is continuously monitored. Appropriate safety precautions can be adapted and standards on the ground improved. In case international experts must leave the country temporarily, activities will not grind to a halt. Resulting from strengthening the Afghan personnel’s capacities, programmes continue to run uninterruptedly. In addition, business continuity management is tested on an ongoing basis: When international staff are unable to be on site, constant business management is guaranteed.

This model has proved its success and is continuously developed further. From the planning phase onward, programmes are designed to allow them to continue even if managed remotely from abroad. In respect of all necessary security standards, this is possible due to the active involvement of and close cooperation with national experts in all German Cooperation projects and programmes. Thus, German Cooperation programmes can be implemented under difficult security conditions and their quality and effectiveness ensured.

Results of the German Cooperation

Screen shot CevTracker

Achieving, monitoring and critically evaluating results – how the German Cooperation with Afghanistan works

To continually optimise the approaches and impact of German Cooperation measures with Afghanistan, the German government monitors progress in strategy implementation, reviews the results of individual programmes and carries out regular evaluations. 

Read More >

Strategie

Am Ende der sogenannten Transformationsdekade (2015–2024), einer Phase tiefgreifender Veränderungsprozesse, soll Afghanistan den Zustand eines „normalen Entwicklungslandes“ erreichen. Das bedeutet, Afghanistan ist ab 2024 zwar nach wie vor auf weitreichende ausländische Unterstützung angewiesen, kann jedoch sein Budget sowie die Sicherheitskosten weitgehend eigenständig tragen. Aktuell ist der Staat allerdings noch nicht in der Lage, die nachhaltige Entwicklung des Landes aus eigenen Mitteln zu finanzieren, was auch mit dem weiter andauernden bewaffneten Konflikt zusammenhängt. Der Einsatz für erfolgreiche Verhandlungen um Frieden in Afghanistan sind deswegen ein Kernbereich der deutschen Zusammenarbeit.

Der afghanische Präsident Ashraf Ghani im Gespräch mit der deutschen Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel.

Die internationale Staatengemeinschaft hat bei der Afghanistan-Ministerkonferenz in Tokio (2012) die Fortsetzung ihres zivilen Engagements bis 2024 im Grundsatz zugesagt und dies anlässlich der Ministerkonferenzen in London (2014), Brüssel (2016), Genf (2018) und zuletzt den beiden Konferenzen in Genf (2018, 2020) bekräftigt. Auf der Geberkonferenz in Brüssel 2016 hatte die internationale Gemeinschaft insgesamt 15,2 Mrd. USD für den zivilen Wiederaufbau AFG für den Zeitraum 2017-2020 in Aussicht gestellt. Deutschland hatte sich bereit erklärt, jährlich bis zu 430 Mio. EUR bereitzustellen.

Auf der Afghanistan Geberkonferenz 2020 in Genf bestätigte die Bundesregierung ihr Engagement für Afghanistan: Bundesminister Maas sagte für 2021 weiterhin Unterstützung in Höhe von bis zu 430 Millionen Euro zu (AA: bis zu 180 Mio. EUR; BMZ: bis zu 250 Mio. EUR) und stellte für die darauf folgenden drei Jahre bis zum Ende der Transformationsdekade (2022-2024) einen Beitrag auf vergleichbarem Niveau in Aussicht.

Die substanzielle Unterstützung der Bundesregierung ist unter anderem an die Umsetzung der im Afghanistan Partnership Framework (APF) zwischen der internationalen Gemeinschaft und der afghanischen Regierung vereinbarten Reformagenda geknüpft. Insbesondere die Achtung von Menschenrechten, einschließlich der Rechte von Frauen und Minderheiten, die Integrität des Staates, gute Regierungsführung und effektive Korruptionsbekämpfung sowie Zusammenarbeit in Migrationsfragen bleiben Voraussetzungen des deutschen Engagements.

Die afghanische Regierung trägt die Hauptverantwortung für gemeinsam mit der internationalen Gemeinschaft vereinbarte Reformfortschritte, ist dabei jedoch auf ein langfristiges Engagement der internationalen Gemeinschaft angewiesen.

Deutschland wird Afghanistan auch in Zukunft dabei unterstützen, Armut zu bekämpfen, eine gute Regierungsführung zu etablieren und die wirtschaftliche Situation zu verbessern, um damit die Grundlagen für dauerhafte Stabilität, Sicherheit und Frieden zu schaffen. Voraussetzung ist die Fortsetzung der Reformanstrengungen der Regierung. Im Mai 2020 haben die Europäische Union und ihre Mitgliedstaaten die Erwartungen an alle afghanischen Akteure noch einmal in Schlussfolgerungen des Europäischen Rates bekräftigt.

Die deutsche Zusammenarbeit unterstützt Afghanistan dabei, einen Staat aufzubauen, der von seinen Bürgerinnen und Bürgern als legitimer Vertreter ihrer Interessen und als Dienstleister ihrer Grundbedürfnisse anerkannt wird. Um dies zu erreichen, muss die afghanische Regierung in der Lage sein, ihrer Bevölkerung Zukunftsperspektiven jenseits von Armut, Flucht, und Extremismus zu eröffnen.

Die deutsche Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan trägt dazu bei, die Voraussetzungen für die langfristige Stabilität und friedliche Entwicklung Afghanistans zu schaffen. Sie verfolgt dabei einen umfassenden, vernetzten Ansatz mit diplomatischem Engagement und Stabilisierungsprojekten des „Stabilitätspaktes Afghanistan“, Beteiligung an der NATO-Ausbildungs- und Beratungsmission, Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, Polizeiaufbau und humanitärer Hilfe.

Dieser Ansatz wird in erster Linie durch das Auswärtige Amt, das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung, das Bundesministerium des Innern und das Bundesministerium der Verteidigung umgesetzt. Im Folgenden steht der zivile Wiederaufbau im Mittelpunkt, den vor allem das Auswärtige Amt und das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung unterstützen.

Folgende Bereiche stehen im Fokus des deutschen Engagements in Afghanistan:

Friedens- und Versöhnungsprozess voranbringen

Der Konflikt in Afghanistan kann nur mit politischen Mitteln gelöst werden. Nur eine politische Einigung zwischen den afghanischen Akteuren kann die Voraussetzung für Stabilität und nachhaltige Entwicklung in Afghanistan schaffen. Wir unterstützen deshalb die Bemühungen um einen nachhaltigen und inklusiven innerafghanischen Friedensprozess. Dabei wollen wir dazu beitragen, dass möglichst viele gesellschaftliche Gruppen in Afghanistan, insbesondere Frauen, eine politische Lösung mitgestalten können und dass diese Lösung im Kern das bewahrt, was in den vergangenen Jahren erreicht wurde.

Komplementär zur Stärkung staatlicher Institutionen unterstützt die Bundesregierung deshalb die Zivilgesellschaft Afghanistans, insbesondere Initiativen, die zum Friedens- und Versöhnungsprozess beitragen. Des Weiteren engagiert sich die Bundesregierung in der Extremismusprävention sowie in der Stärkung der regionalen Zusammenarbeit.

Zivile Stabilisierung und Polizeiaufbau

Die zivile Stabilisierung und der Polizeiaufbau sind eine unentbehrliche Ergänzung zu Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und militärischer Unterstützung im vernetzten Ansatz. Ziel ist es, die Voraussetzungen für einen Friedensprozess zu schaffen. Das Auswärtige Amt unterstützt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bundesministerium des Innern das afghanische Innenministerium finanziell sowie durch die Entsendung deutscher Polizistinnen und Polizisten bei dem Aufbau einer Polizei, die in der Lage ist, Sicherheit unter Berücksichtigung rechtsstaatlicher Prinzipien durchzusetzen.

Arbeitsplätze als Perspektive gegen Extremismus

Jährlich kommen etwa 400.000 junge Menschen auf den afghanischen Arbeitsmarkt. Beschäftigungsförderung und die Schaffung neuer Arbeitsplätze sollen Perspektiven schaffen und Frauen und Männern gleichermaßen eine sichere Zukunft bieten.

Zukunft durch Bildung und Ausbildung

Grundlagen für Beschäftigung und politische Teilhabe sind eine gute Bildung sowie eine berufliche Ausbildung. Die arbeitsmarktorientierte berufliche Bildung sowie eine qualifizierte Grundbildung sollen den Menschen bessere Möglichkeiten eröffnen, ihr Leben zu gestalten. Über Kapazitätsaufbau- und Infrastrukturmaßnahmen tragen wir zur Verbesserung der Qualität der Berufsausbildung sowie der Grund- und Sekundarbildung bei. Zudem nutzen wir bestehende funktionierende Strukturen wie die traditionelle Lehrlingsausbildung und entwickeln sie weiter.

Gerechtigkeit durch gute Regierungsführung​

Leistungsfähige Behörden, Verwaltungen und Institutionen sorgen für Ordnung, sozialen Frieden und Rechtssicherheit. Sie sollen durch die Steigerung der Leistungsfähigkeit rechtsstaatlicher Strukturen und des dezentralen Regierungshandelns die Fähigkeiten und das Know-how erhalten, um ihren Aufgaben transparent nachzukommen, Korruption wirksam zu bekämpfen und die Rechte der Frauen zu stärken.

Wirtschaftsförderung im ländlichen Raum

Drei Viertel der Afghaninnen und Afghanen leben auf dem Land, die Mehrheit ist in der Landwirtschaft tätig. Daher fördern wir insbesondere hier die Schaffung von dauerhaft produktiven, aber auch kurzfristigen Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten, zum Beispiel über Ausbau und Stärkung von Wertschöpfungsketten wie Milch oder Weizen.

Basisinfrastruktur bereitstellen

Der Zugang der afghanischen Bevölkerung zu öffentlicher Infrastruktur, Dienstleistungen und Wohnraum ist trotz aller Fortschritte nach wie vor sehr eingeschränkt, vor allem im ländlichen Raum. Unser Engagement zielt darauf ab, die Versorgung der Bevölkerung, vor allem auch der vulnerablen Gruppen wie etwa Binnenvertriebene, mit Basisinfrastruktur wie Energie und Wasser zu verbessern sowie die Stadtentwicklung voranzubringen, um so zu einer nachhaltigen ländlichen und städtischen Entwicklung beizutragen. Eine funktionierende Basisinfrastruktur stärkt auch das Vertrauen der Bevölkerung in die öffentlichen Institutionen.

Lokale Strukturen stärken

Eine wichtige Bedingung für Entwicklung ist die Übernahme von Verantwortung durch die Partner vor Ort. Daher stärkt die Bundesregierung lokale Entscheidungsstrukturen und bezieht diese vermehrt in Planungsentscheidungen und die Umsetzung der Maßnahmen ein. Dieser Ansatz trägt auch zur Lösung von Interessenkonflikten bei. Bauarbeiten werden so weit wie möglich von lokalen Arbeitskräften sowie mit lokalen Baumaterialien durchgeführt, um vor Ort Arbeitsplätze und Einkommen zu schaffen.

Humanitäre Hilfe leisten

Trotz aller Friedens- und Entwicklungsbemühungen benötigten nach Angaben der Vereinten Nationen 2021 18,4 Millionen Menschen in Afghanistan humanitäre Hilfe. Die Bevölkerung Afghanistans leidet unter den Folgen häufiger Naturkatastrophen sowie des jahrzehntelangen bewaffneten Konflikts. Beides führt zu zahlreichen Binnenvertriebenen, die, wie auch viele der afghanischen Rückkehrer aus Pakistan und Iran, humanitärer Unterstützung bedürfen. Die Folgen der COVID-19-Pandemie verschärfen diese Situation weiter.  

Rolle der Zivilgesellschaft

Die Zivilgesellschaft ist ein wichtiger Akteur, um Transparenz und Rechenschaft von öffentlichen Institutionen einzufordern und gesellschaftlichen Wandel voranzubringen. Deshalb arbeitet die Bundesregierung eng mit zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen zusammen und berät diese, damit sie stärker an staatlichen Prozessen teilhaben und so zur Durchsetzung der Bürgerrechte beitragen.

Unterstützung als Anreiz für Reformen

Im Gegenzug für die finanzielle Unterstützung erwartet die Bundesregierung von der afghanischen Regierung, dass sie ihre Reformzusagen in den Bereichen gute Regierungsführung, Korruptionsbekämpfung, Menschenrechte und insbesondere Frauenrechte einhält, die wirtschaftliche Teilhabe aller Bevölkerungsgruppen, insbesondere auch der Frauen ermöglicht sowie bei Flucht- und Migrationsfragen zusammenarbeitet.

Die Bundesregierung beabsichtigt, künftig gezielt die Zusammenarbeit mit Reformpartnern auf afghanischer Seite auszubauen und verstärkt Anreize für Transparenz, Eigenverantwortung und Entwicklungsorientierung zu setzen.

Dabei wird die weitere Unterstützung von der Umsetzung der gemeinsam vereinbarten Reformen durch die afghanische Regierung abhängen. Wenn keine ausreichenden Reformfortschritte erkennbar sind, wird unsere Unterstützung konsequent reduziert oder ganz eingestellt. Deutschland und die internationale Gebergemeinschaft stimmen sich in ihrer Unterstützung eng miteinander ab.

Die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan – Präsenz in fragilem Umfeld

Auch in Gebieten, die von Krisen und Konflikten geprägt sind, ist die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit aktiv. Denn hier wird das umfangreiche Engagement der Bundesregierung besonders benötigt. Es gilt, die nationalen Institutionen sowie die zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen dabei zu unterstützen, ein Leben in Frieden, politischer Sicherheit und Stabilität zu gewährleisten und wirtschaftliche Perspektiven sowie Teilhabe für die gesamte Bevölkerung zu entwickeln.

Im Zentrum der deutschen Zusammenarbeit steht die enge Kooperation mit der afghanischen Bevölkerung und den nationalen Partnern vor Ort – die stets auf Augenhöhe stattfindet. Den Rahmen der Kooperation bilden die Agenda 2030 und die Werte und Rechte der VN-Charta, insbesondere die Menschenrechte. Denn langfristig sollen und können nur diese die notwendigen Kapazitäten aufbauen und die Dynamik entfalten, Entwicklungsprogramme eigenständig zu planen und umzusetzen. Deshalb hat es für die Bundesregierung oberste Priorität, Programme gemeinsam und in enger Rücksprache mit den afghanischen Partnern auf die besonderen Bedingungen Afghanistans zuzuschneiden und an die lokalen Bedürfnisse bestmöglich anzupassen.

Eine besondere Bedeutung kommt dabei dem afghanischen Fachpersonal der Durchführungsorganisationen zu. Die Ansätze in der technischen und finanziellen Zusammenarbeit zielen konsequent darauf ab, das nationale Personal mit den Prozessen der deutschen Zusammenarbeit vertraut zu machen und für das Management der Implementierung zu qualifizieren. Ziel ist es, vor Ort Expertise aufzubauen, über die zunehmende Praxiserfahrung Schritt für Schritt Verantwortung auf die afghanischen Kräfte zu übertragen und diese so in Managementprozesse einzubinden. Denn gemeinsam mit internationalen Fachkräften sollen sie mit den afghanischen Partnern Programme professionell planen, deren Umsetzung steuern und die Wirksamkeit sowie Nachhaltigkeit der Maßnahmen gewährleisten können.

Dabei hat die Sicherheit der in Afghanistan tätigen nationalen wie auch internationalen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern oberste Priorität für die Bundesregierung. Die Bedrohungslage für nationale und internationale Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter kann sehr unterschiedlich sein. Sie wird kontinuierlich überprüft, bei Bedarf werden entsprechende Sicherheitsvorkehrungen angepasst und notwendige Standards vor Ort verbessert. Sollte eine temporäre Abwesenheit der internationalen Fachkräfte notwendig sein, bedeutet dies keineswegs einen Stopp der Aktivitäten im Land. Aufgrund des bewährten Ansatzes, die Kapazitäten des afghanischen Personals zu stärken, laufen die Programme kontinuierlich weiter. Zusätzlich wird fortlaufend das sogenannte „Business Continuity Management“ erprobt. Das heißt, auch wenn internationale Kräfte temporär nicht vor Ort sein können, ist ein kontinuierliches Unternehmensmanagement gewährleistet.

Das Modell hat sich bewährt und wird laufend weiterentwickelt. Es bedeutet, dass Programme bereits in ihrer Planung darauf ausgerichtet werden, auch mittels Fernsteuerung aus dem Ausland fortlaufen zu können. Aufgrund der aktiven Einbindung und engen Zusammenarbeit mit den nationalen Fachkräften in allen Projekten und Programmen der deutschen Zusammenarbeit kann dies - unter Beachtung der erforderlichen Sicherheitsstandards der nationalen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter - gewährleistet werden. Auf diese Weise können die Programme der deutschen Zusammenarbeit auch unter schwierigen Sicherheitsbedingungen durchgeführt und deren Qualität und Wirksamkeit sichergestellt werden.

Wirkungen der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit

Screen shot CevTracker

Wirkungen erzielen, beobachten und kritisch bewerten – so funktioniert die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan

Um die Ansätze und Wirkungen der Maßnahmen der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan fortlaufend zu optimieren, beobachtet die Bundesregierung die Umsetzungsfortschritte sowie die erzielten Wirkungen einzelner Programme. Auf der Ebene der Maßnahmen werden regelmäßige Evaluierungen durchgeführt.  

Mehr erfahren >